#17 Make monkey bread.

Right now I’m extremely hyper, probably due to the fact that I have consumed an obscene amount of sugar today and just finished a run around the neighborhood. I can literally feel the adrenaline shooting through my veins. I’m just waiting for the moment I crash after my sugar high…

Ok, I know this list item is sort of random, but after failing at making monkey bread way back when I was seven, I have promised myself that I would someday conquer this supposedly simple recipe. Which, if you didn’t guess, is what I did today. You should know that not only did I conquer the recipe, I dominated it.  My senses are tingling from the heavenly aroma wafting from the kitchen and my taste buds are crying at the mere thought of tasting a bite of the warm gooey treat waiting for them. This is a once every five years kind of dessert, it’s that rich and tempting. But every bite is worth the calories, especially when it’s so simple and easy to make. My seven-year old self remembers it being much harder, but I suppose my culinary experience has broadened since then. Anyway if your interested in tasting a bit of heaven I have supplied the recipe I used to make this tantalizing treat. I’m sure you could make it completely homemade, but I cheated and used already made dough.

Ingredients:

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar

3/4 cup butter or margarine, melted

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon cinnamon

2 cans Pillsbury® Grands refrigerated buttermilk biscuits

1/2 cup chopped walnuts, if desired
Directions:
Heat oven to 350°F. Lightly grease 12-cup fluted tube pan with shortening or cooking spray. In large storage plastic food bag, mix granulated sugar and cinnamon. Separate dough into 16 biscuits; cut each into quarters. Shake in bag to coat. Arrange in pan, adding walnuts and raisins among the biscuit pieces. In small bowl, mix brown sugar and butter; pour over biscuit pieces. Bake 28 to 32 minutes or until golden brown and no longer doughy in center. Cool in pan 10 minutes. Turn upside down onto serving plate; pull apart to serve. Serve warm
Well there you have it, my cooking adventure for the day. Actually now that I think about it, today was pretty fantastic. Not only did I complete a very fun list item and got to indulge, I also crushed my mother in an intense game of checkers. 🙂 Anyway just wanted to say thanks to everyone who has stopped by my little blog and get ready for more exciting adventures as summer really gets started!
May the summer be ever in your favor,
Meagan
About thesummergames

I'm a teen, obsessive list-maker, and summer-freak. Enjoy my words. And remember, may the summer be ever in your favor. View all posts by thesummergames

Leave a Reply

