#42 Carve my name into a tree + Two!

Let me begin this post by saying happy father’s day to all of those dads out there, including my own. Also I would like to warn everyone that this post may become a little lengthy, due to the fact that I completed three bucket list items, on three separate days, yet I couldn’t find the time to write three separate blog posts. So sorry about that!

On Thursday afternoon I found myself with an hour to spare before I had to be someplace. With only an hour and no mode of transportation, I decided to look over my bucket list and see what I could accomplish. #42 Carve my name into a tree, jumped out at me, so I grabbed my handy-dandy carving knife and set out in pursuit for the smoothest tree I could find. After a little searching I decided to etch my name into the bark of a holly tree near my yard. Despite what I have seen in movies, carving ones name into a tree is tough work. I ended up mauling the poor tree’s trunk and the carving is barely legible. Also I think I may have scared my elderly neighbor when he came out to collect this mail and saw me wielding a knife while hacking at a tree. Although I encountered some complications with this bucket list item, it was actually pretty fun and a great exercise for my arms!

#3 Have fun in a photo booth happened completely by accident. My friend and I were at the movie theaters on Friday to see the movie Madagascar 3 (side note: if you like light-hearted comedy, corny jokes, and bright animation, you should definitely go see this movie.) We arrived extra early, since we weren’t sure how crowded it was going to be, and had time to waste before we could find seats.  Noticing a photo booth in the corner of the lobby, I suggested we try it out. Amanda (my friend) eagerly agreed and we hopped inside and proceeded to have fun in the photo booth. It wasn’t till after our photos had printed did I remember that “have fun in a photo booth” was part of my bucket list. I guess its true when they say – the best things in life aren’t planned.

The city near my home hosts a farmers market every Sunday morning. The last time I went was about a year ago with my father. I remember I was in a rotten mood and therefore the memory was tainted, which is why I decided to add this item to my bucket list. So imagine my delight when my father said he wanted to go to the farmers market downtown for father’s day! Immediately after arriving my senses were assaulted with the bustling activity of the different food vendors. The smells of Asian, European, African, and Caribbean cuisine drifted throughout the market, mingling with the smells of the fresh produce and flowers. Street performers added a festive feeling to the air and all about people mingled through the different stalls. Feeling adventuresome, I decided to try something new and settled on a Caribbean vegan samosa. Delicious is the only way I can describe it. After washing it down with a cup of fresh-squeezed lemonade, my family meandered throughout, stopping at different stands to marvel the crafts or purchase fresh fruits, veggies, and flowers. It was a total blast and I’m glad I can replace my ruined memory with such a good new one!

In a nutshell my weekend was filled to the brim with new, fun, and exciting experiences. The summer is finally starting to kick into high gear, so look for more posts soon!

May the summer be ever in your favor,

Meagan

About thesummergames

I'm a teen, obsessive list-maker, and summer-freak. Enjoy my words. And remember, may the summer be ever in your favor. View all posts by thesummergames

Leave a Reply

