Three Times the Charm

Sunday was one of those hot and humid days when just the thought of going outside is completely and utterly unbearable. Being the sensible person I am, I gladly stayed inside where the temperature stayed just shy of freezing. With an abundance of free time on my hands, I took a peek at the old summer bucket list to see what I could complete from the comfort of my air-conditioned home. #4 Write a complaint/satisfaction letter, seemed like the most reasonable choice. Oddly enough I found it quite hard to find anything worthy of writing a complaint or a satisfaction letter about. Finally I just decided to write a quick letter of satisfaction to the company Sperry Top-Sider. Sperry’s, if you don’t know, are a form of boat shoe which I have recently become obsessed with, thus making them the most reasonable choice to write about. Lo and behold though, after I had finished this task I found a mere fifteen minutes had passed, leaving me with the rest of the day to fill. Once again I glanced at the ever trusty bucket list and picked out two more items to complete- #63 Send messages via snail-mail to my friends and #109 Write a letter to a soldier. I decided to make it into a letter writing day, a bit of a blast to the past, considering letter writing has all but disappeared from this technology driven day and age. Anyway while writing said letters to my friends I realized two very important things:

1. The reason letter writing has all but disappeared is because there is no point in wasting money on postage when you can just as easily send an email.

AND

2. I don’t know my friends addresses.

This left me in an awkward situation. How was I suppose to mail these letters when I didn’t have their addresses? In the end I had to text them and ask them where they lived, thus ruining the surprise. The whole point was for them to be shocked when they received my unexpected letter in their mailbox. And this is yet another reason letter writing has become extinct. Nevertheless I forged ahead to complete the last letter writing assignment- #109 Write a letter to a soldier. After a bit of internet searching I discovered this website: http://www.amillionthanks.org/, where you can easily send a message of thanks to someone who has or who is currently defending our nation. Because of my family connection to the military, this particular bucket list item means a lot to me and I’m overjoyed that my letter will hopefully bring a smile to someone brave enough to fight for our country.

Well to sum up my Sunday – it was letters galore! Lots of writing, lots of thinking, lots of addressing, and lots of mailing. Sorry this post came so late, but trust me I’ve been crazy busy. Just wait, there’s some super exciting posts to come! 🙂

May the summer be ever in your favor,

Meagan

About thesummergames

I'm a teen, obsessive list-maker, and summer-freak. Enjoy my words. And remember, may the summer be ever in your favor. View all posts by thesummergames

One response to “Three Times the Charm

  • Mail « happy coco butter

    […] i have just read that meagan has send me a letter in her https://thesummergames.wordpress.com/2012/07/13/three-times-the-charm/ post. Of course i had guessed what she was doing as soon as she asked for my address, but i was […]

Leave a Reply

