The Art of Being Adventurous

#5 Shoot a gun.

A couple of observations I made while shooting at a clay target range:

  • Most people who work at shooting ranges are sweet old men ranging in age from 60-70 years old who like guns and are slightly redneckish.
  • People are not used to seeing small teen girls at shooting ranges.
  • Pulling the trigger is quite the satisfying feeling.

#43 Go horseback riding.

When I was eight I was a competitive horseback rider. This meant I would compete in shows and go through the jump courses. One day during a riding lesson a bird flew to close to the horse I was riding and spooked it, causing me to be thrown off. This resulted in me breaking my wrist and collarbone. It was also the end to my horseback riding career. However I decided now was the time to put all that behind me and go on a trail ride. In a nutshell this is what happened:

Got on horse.

Started on the trail.

Had minor panic attack.

Got myself under control.

    Felt amazing when I finished riding.

#70 Ride a mechanical bull.

Five words: It’s harder than it looks.  

#85 Go rock climbing.

Once again this was one of those times when I wasn’t even planning on completing a bucket list item, but the opportunity presented itself so I took it. Anyways the rock wall was one of those portable 40-foot walls. Overall it was simple for me to scale, as I’ve climbed more intense ones before, but still I loved it and that’s all that matters. Big check next to #85!

As you can see I was plenty busy being adventurous last week. Again I apologize for the lack of photos, but I was being absentminded and forgot to bring my camera every time. I promise all the incoming posts will have plenty of pictures.

May the summer be ever in your favor,

Meagan

About thesummergames

I'm a teen, obsessive list-maker, and summer-freak. Enjoy my words. And remember, may the summer be ever in your favor. View all posts by thesummergames

3 responses to “The Art of Being Adventurous

Leave a Reply

