My Birthday and Other Important Things

Ok, so maybe my birthday isn’t actually that important in the scheme of life, but one day of the year it’s all about me and I like to use this fact to my advantage. I’ll admit that sounds extremely selfish and it is, but please believe me when I say I am in no way a brat. I will admit I am spoiled, while others don’t have enough food and clean water, I have an abundance of those as well as material items that I don’t really need. I am lucky to have a loving family, a home to live in, and the chance to receive a first-rate education. My family is not rich and I do not get everything handed to me on a silver platter, but like I said before I am extremely blessed and I try to remember this when I have a bad day and feel the need to act like my life is horrible.

So to sum up:

Am I an angel? No, not in any way.

Do I try to remember how blessed I am? Yes.

Do I want to make a real difference in this world? Defiantly. But lets move away from such intense topics and focus on what this post is supposed to be about – my birthday and my bucket list adventures.

Like I’ve mentioned several times before, my birthday was exactly a week and one day ago. I turned the ripe old age of fourteen, which shed some light on the fact that I truly am growing up and will soon start high school. It kind of smacked me in the face, of course I realized all this before, but actually turning fourteen just made everything come into perspective. I’m no longer a kid, but I’m far from grown up. This became very clear when I tried to sign up for parasailing and guess what? I was too young and the minimum weight you had to be was twenty pounds more than I weigh. It was the perfect example of how I am no longer a kid, but am defiantly not grown up yet. Therefore #113 was asphyxiated. Never one to give up easily, I made sure to still have a fantastic birthday and complete some different items after this minor bump in the road.

#76 Make smoothies. Then sit on the porch and enjoy.

Fresh peaches, fresh strawberries, a dollop of Greek yogurt, some ice, and I had my birthday breakfast. Delish!

#8 Eat strawberry shortcake.

Hot cocoa and pumpkin pie are to fall, as strawberry shortcake is to summer. Did that make sense? Anyway what I mean is some foods can only really be enjoyed during a certain season. Hot cocoa and pumpkin pie are to be enjoyed during autumn, while strawberry shortcake, watermelon, and lemonade are enjoyed during the summer. I’m not sure how this came to be: why are some foods forced into exile the rest of the year only to be eaten during their certain season? But whatever the reason strawberry shortcake will forever be a summer staple.

So there you have it, I completed two bucket list items on my fourteenth birthday. But did you think that was really all I completed? Of course not! Just wait and I’ll fill you in on all the other things I’ve been up to while on vacation. Now please enjoy some more photos of my special day and then you can leave this blog and go on with your merry lives. 🙂

May the summer be ever in your favor,

Meagan

PS – Who’s watching the Olympics? Cuz I know I am!

About thesummergames

I'm a teen, obsessive list-maker, and summer-freak. Enjoy my words. And remember, may the summer be ever in your favor. View all posts by thesummergames

8 responses to “My Birthday and Other Important Things

Leave a Reply

