Updates! Updates! Updates!

As of late I’ve become horrible at updating the blog on all the things I’ve completed. So this post and the next one will probably be of substantial size, as I’ve decided to condense the items I completed in to two separate blog posts. This way I think it will be easier for both me and my readers to better grasp what’s been happening over at casa de Meagan.

First let me start with #83 Paint a face paint masterpiece. Show it off in public. The reality is I accomplished this bucket list item weeks ago, but somehow let it slip from my memory, and its been gathering dust in the back of my cluttered brain. As I was dusting this certain memory off I have found that there was nothing special about the completion of this task. It was simply composed of me painting a mutant and somehow sinister butterfly on my cheek, then proceeding to walk around in public with said monstrosity on my face. Other than a few confused glances from concerned citizens the intended effect of this (to surprise or delight strangers) was somehow lost. I suppose teenagers walking about with disturbing butterfly face paint is a more common occurrence then I had originally thought.

#90 Walk on the beach at night is a perfect example of how the little things in life can be the bearers of the fondest memories. Simplistic things like taking a barefoot walk  on the beach as the sun sets allows me to focus on the joys I have in my life and find a purpose in what I do. Be it the crashing waves or the hot smooth sand tickling my toes, something  about the stillness of a night beach walk brings to mind the positives of life, and all the negative is left behind, washed away by the waves. So despite the utter simplicity of #90 it holds one of my most cherished memory of this summer.

My childishness is highlighted in this next completed item – #105 Bury myself in the sand. Somehow despite all the obvious downsides of this one list item, I decided that burying myself in the scorching sand would be a fun ode to my childhood. Realistically this was a senseless thing to do, and it ended with sand going in places sand should never be. This half-witted idea ended up being so moronic it was literally laughable, just ask random beachgoers who witnessed my trivial antics. However it led to the completion of #114 Build a sandcastle, which ended just as badly as #105. Meaningless, pointless, and foolish these tasks were meant to take me back to a simpler time. The harsh reality though is that no matter how fun sand may seem, it’s no good once it gets in all your nooks and crannies. 🙂

May the summer be ever in your favor,

Meagan

About thesummergames

I'm a teen, obsessive list-maker, and summer-freak. Enjoy my words. And remember, may the summer be ever in your favor. View all posts by thesummergames

Leave a Reply

