Where the Wild Things Are

I’ll admit it – I love the zoo. Well let me back up and start by saying point-blank: I love animals. I’m not the most sociable person out there and at times I would rather stay at home with my dog then go out and be “social.” I’m a bit of an introvert and tend to keep to myself, which sometimes comes across as being supercilious, but really I’m just shy. However I do tend to prefer animal company over human company most of the time and because of this I plan on becoming a veterinarian. It is also the reason I decided to become a vegetarian in fourth grade and due to my stubborn nature I have stuck with this choice and have not tasted meat in roughly  five years. All of this being said you can understand why I take pleasure in visting the zoo and felt that it should be part of my bucket list.

However despite my love of zoos I can’t help wondering if they are adequate substitutes to  the wild. Are they truly capable of giving all the animals suitable enclosures? Can a zoo give an animal a happy life or will they always feel trapped? Do they even realize that they are trapped? I suppose there is no way to truly answer these questions, abeit asking the animals themselves, but I doubt you would get an understandable response. So as I explored the zoo on Tuesday I pushed these dour thoughts to the back of my mind and tried to focus on the positive, whatever that may be. Like the uncanny coincidence that Mei Chang, the female panda, happens to have the exact same birthday as me- same day, same month, same year. Happy 14th birthday, Mei Chang!

May the summer be ever in your favor,

Meagan

PS – If you’ve noticed I tend to have a bunch of pictures all in a straight line down the middle. Is there any way to move the pictures around? Thanks!

About thesummergames

I'm a teen, obsessive list-maker, and summer-freak. Enjoy my words. And remember, may the summer be ever in your favor. View all posts by thesummergames

5 responses to “Where the Wild Things Are

Leave a Reply

