Fun with a Capital F

Not only did I complete three things yesterday, I also had a sensational time in doing so. I dare say yesterday was one of my top-5 most memorable days from this summer and most interestingly it didn’t start out as anything special. I was actually  beginning to think it was going to be a dud day until things started to improve miraculously. I would even wager that yesterday taught me an important lesson in the patience department. “Good things come from those who wait.” Seems like a legit message for me after yesterday.

#28 Make something out of duct tape.

If you have stuck with me this whole summer, you may remember that I am a pretty pitiful crafter. (need I bring up the college? how about the pottery?) So I was having some regrets on ever thinking I could possibly make something decent out of duct tape of all things. Never one to turn down a challenge though, it seemed like fate when I was pursuing the aisles in Five Below and came across a whole shelf stocked with a variety of colored and decorative duct tape at the discounted price of $1.99. Grabbing one fluorescent green roll and a pale blue one, I triumphantly walked away with my purchases, thrilled to be on my way towards completing yet another bucket list item. When I arrived at home a quick Google search gave me an excessive amount of tutorials involving duct tape. However with my nonexistent crafter skills I decided to stick with the basics and make a bow. Fifteen minutes later I was beyond ecstatic, because not only had I made a decent bow I had actually enjoyed the process of making it. Energized after my huge success I decided to try my hand at making a wallet. Thirty minutes later, after only a few minor debacles, I was once again pleased with the outcome of my work. With a bounce in my step I headed out to show off to my family my new accessories. They were so impressed they asked me to make them wallets. With my ego boosted from all the praises I can very rightly so check off #28.

#29 Send a message in a bottle.

As I was “completing” this task the voices in my head kept up a steady rant of “CHEATER!” “CHEATER!” This is because I decided not to pollute our already polluted waters with a message in a bottle that would most likely never be found or read. Call that statement cynical, but it’s the truth. Luckily the internet hosts a variety of ways for someone to send a virtual message in a bottle. That’s how I managed to complete this item without littering, with the help of this nifty little website: http://www.oceangram.com/ Keep our waters clean people, resist the urge to throw bottles and trash and do it online instead. 🙂

#60 Go bowling. Try to win.

Bowling in three words is: exasperating, hilarious, and fun. Especially when its mini bowling. That’s right folks, miniature bowling, also know as duck-pin bowling, is played with smaller bowling balls and pins. You also get to roll three times, unlike the two times in normal bowling. Duck-pin bowling is all the fun of regular bowling, just in a smaller size. I took my friend there once years ago and when she asked if we could go again I gladly agreed. Four games, two strikes, and five spares later we were exhausted after our bowling bonanza, which involved a lot of screaming and jumping up and down, so we came back to my house, collapsed on the coach, and watched the Olympics. Somewhere in between we decided that we have the skills to be the next USA Beach Volleyball team. How exactly this happened, I don’t know, I’ve never even played volleyball. That just goes to show how random we are. 🙂

May the summer be ever in your favor,

Meagan

About thesummergames

I'm a teen, obsessive list-maker, and summer-freak. Enjoy my words. And remember, may the summer be ever in your favor. View all posts by thesummergames

2 responses to “Fun with a Capital F

Leave a Reply

